Fact on Bhubaneswar

Bhubaneswar (ଭୁବନେଶ୍ୱର) is the capital and largest city of the Indian state of Orissa, known as “temple city”. Once the capital of ancient Kalinga, the city has a long history of 3000 years and is today a center of economic and religious importance.

The modern city of Bhubaneswar was designed by the German architect Otto Konigsberger in 1946. It became the political capital of the state of Orissa in 1948, a year after India gained its independence from Britain. Before Bhubaneswar, Cuttack was the capital of Orissa until 1947. Bhubaneswar and Cuttack are together known as the “twin cities” of Orissa.

[googlemaps https://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=Bhubaneswar,+Orissa,+India&sll=20.2783,85.849228&sspn=0.141699,0.20874&ie=UTF8&hq=&hnear=Bhubaneswar,+Khordha,+Orissa,+India&ll=20.295571,85.852707&spn=0.056351,0.072956&z=13&iwloc=A&output=embed&w=425&h=350]

View Larger Map

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *